How old is TOO Old??

Ok I am having a crack at the Daily Press writing challenge. 400 words free flow. 

HOw old is Too Old? I ask. 

 I posted on my own blog Valencia Princess how my much loved father passed away early this year. Now he was a very active 80 year old and it is hard to believe he is ‘physically’ not here anymore. 

Whilst my mother ( and many many more parents, family etc) are living in a nursing home. She had brain cancer and surgery 5 years ago.  So far she has outlived the medical stats by 4.5 years.

 So i ask How old is too old? There are many who have been in the nursing home for over ten years.  Why?? Why do they continue to live? I mean why would you want to live to 100 years old, or more like some people in other parts of the world do.  When majority of the last 10+ years may be spent in a vegetated state, or there abouts, in a nursing home. Unable to be an active member of your family, community or life. 

Yet when we celebrate those who reach 100 plus , we, as a population ( in generalised terms) appauld those who reach those milestones. Why? I, personally do not want to be like these people. What is the point of it. In a recent story, i read, the old lady ( at 105) struggled to even know where she was. Little alone recounting if she even had travelled, what was that outstanding meal she had, who she had loved.    It was sad. 

Now OLD – How old is Too old?  well in the food and wine world the older the better; sort of. 

 Take certain bottles of wine are VERY collectable and drinkable with age.  Take Shiraz or even champagne. The love and nurturing, winemakers take with these..  OHHH yeah yummo. salivating as I think of the first time I drank Moet and Chandon.

What about cheese – it too needs to age to bring out all those yummy flavors and nuances. 

Salamis etc are , also, better with age. 

Certain cars are more valuable with age. Some are, also, lemons..with age.

Furniture, Architecture, design, paintings, sculpture, literature, animals -( elephants are old and still adorable) all can be ok with age..

So How Old is TOO Old?

About Louise

I am a very young 52 year old. Like my star sign I am a typical Capricorn - tenacious, loyal, determined, honest, open minded, and dry sense of humour. I believe in astrology, intuition, spiritual matters and have a very healthy respect for all Buddhism. MY power number is 9. I was born at the end of a Dragon year. I am a very proud 5th generation Australian. I love to cook, read prolifically, write, and enjoy nature with all its wonderment. I love to cook especially for those who appreciate it. Like a great bottle of wine I am getting oh so much better with age. I have a natural curiosity and am constantly asking questions. I like to write and I wish I had become a librarian or researcher. Blogs help me get a "REAL FEEL" of what makes the world tick. Thank you every one for sharing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

