Blackall to Barcaldine, Queensland

Whilst the northern hemisphere were celebrating all things Halloween.. ( see any posts made by ROMP).  I was heading north’ further into the Channel Country.  This is named that because, when you look at a map, you will notice a myriad of creeks, rivers, and water courses marked. It all eventually drains into the Murray Darling Basin or the Lake Eyre Basin in South Australia.

In the early years of settlement many explorers did not realise that they were trudging across Australia’s Biggest Artesian Basin.

The topography is ever changing but one sure thing is when you are travelling across, what looks like barren wasteland, not too far away is always a line of trees.  This signifies where water could be or is depending upon the season.  It is currently the beginning of ‘the wet” season although most of this countryside is gripped in drought. Barely 50 mls of real rain has fallen since late september.

BLACKALL

This town is on the Barcoo River, which is pretty bone dry near town.  All water for the town and surrounding area is bore water. It has the strong smell of sulphur ( yep! rotten egg smell) but it is so so soft and relaxing on your skin. Even Molly liked drinking it.

After a tough day driving into a northerly wind of 18-23 km’s per hour and 41 C ( 105.8), we stopped here for the night. The lady at the caravan park took pity on us and gave us a cabin for the night.  Whilst Molly luxuriated in front of the air con.

I went to the local aquatic centre and had a relaxing dip in the artesian bore water.  Yes it was warm but when you get out and hop in the swimming pool, it is like those hot bath things in europe.

Much Later in the evening Molly and I had a quick walk around town. We found the original Black Stump . Although it is now under glass ( making it hard to photograph) I did take this picture for you to get the gist of its meaning. There are many other interesting things to see: it has saleyards under shady trees, the Original Wool Scour ( where wool is washed, spun and baled for sale), Historical Cemetery and sculptures celebrating Jack Howe. 

information about the black stump

information about the black stump

About Louise

I am a very young 52 year old. Like my star sign I am a typical Capricorn - tenacious, loyal, determined, honest, open minded, and dry sense of humour. I believe in astrology, intuition, spiritual matters and have a very healthy respect for all Buddhism. MY power number is 9. I was born at the end of a Dragon year. I am a very proud 5th generation Australian. I love to cook, read prolifically, write, and enjoy nature with all its wonderment. I love to cook especially for those who appreciate it. Like a great bottle of wine I am getting oh so much better with age. I have a natural curiosity and am constantly asking questions. I like to write and I wish I had become a librarian or researcher. Blogs help me get a "REAL FEEL" of what makes the world tick. Thank you every one for sharing.
This entry was posted in geography, history, holidays, landscapes, life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

