Yes! it is true there are parts of this big wide world of ours that are still in ‘the dark’ages’.. Far West Queensland is one of them.

NOOOOOOO Mobile phone or wifi coverage.

Mucho Big apologies for the lateness of these following blogs.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..After staying at Blackall, the home of the Black Stump and Jack Howe – the gun sheep shearer.

I drove north across the Cooper Creek Basin.  Although it did not feel like it I actually gained elevation and there in front of me was a huge wide, wide semi barren landscape and the evidence that yes this was once a great inland ocean.  To the east of me I could see smoke on the horizon. Something definitely was burning. Apparently there was a ‘kinda’ controlled burn going on over toward the Diamantina National Park.

What I did notice , well you cannot miss it, is the way all the trees look as though they have been bulldozed or razed, bit like the way parts of the Amazon are deforested.   This is because the farmers push the trees over as so the cattle can eat the branches that they could not reach.   The highway is relatively ok but is undergoing patch up jobs in places.

Finally got to the pretty friendly ( read ‘welcome tourist even if it is after the main tourist season rush. We welcome you to our town and the $$$ you might spend’) town of Barcaldine. Hereare some pics It is a very interesting town and will definetly come back

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Louise

I am a very young 52 year old. Like my star sign I am a typical Capricorn - tenacious, loyal, determined, honest, open minded, and dry sense of humour. I believe in astrology, intuition, spiritual matters and have a very healthy respect for all Buddhism. MY power number is 9. I was born at the end of a Dragon year. I am a very proud 5th generation Australian. I love to cook, read prolifically, write, and enjoy nature with all its wonderment. I love to cook especially for those who appreciate it. Like a great bottle of wine I am getting oh so much better with age. I have a natural curiosity and am constantly asking questions. I like to write and I wish I had become a librarian or researcher. Blogs help me get a "REAL FEEL" of what makes the world tick. Thank you every one for sharing.
Link | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

