Longreach – the other part

Longreach Queensland survives on the tourist trade.  Well not only that because there is large saleyards and an agricultural college, schools, shops etc. But- from my opinion, ( yes G I am using an opinion) it seems to rely on the passing tourist trade.

Longreach is on one of the main caravanning and travelling routes around Australia.

So fair to say it has relied on the passing tourist for at least 26 years; since the Stockmans Hall of Fame opened.

(disclaimer: i am sure there were other reasons to stop there before then)

The other attractions are the Qantas Founders Museum , The School of the Air, some art galleries, a ride in an authentic Cobb and Co Stagecoach, and through out our winter many nights at the exhibition place for damper and cups of tea and yarn telling. There is fishing on the Thompson river, a sunset cruise when the water level is ok to do so, and of course there is the RODEO.  Which, according to locals, is a great big Bachelor and Spinster’s Ball over 3 days.

So – there is accommodation to suit majority of people including all those caravanning crazy people.   AND me.. Which leaves me to ask HOW COME THE largest accommodation place ; YES you The Longreach “Tourist Park” leaves a lot to be desired. It has the slickest website, is advertised heavily on the travel sites, must see and stay is constantly on those travel shows.  Yet it has absolutely next to zero for shade. Yes shade. Even in winter caravanning folk like to set up and sit in the SHADE. Considering how much you wanted to charge me for a rock solid piece of ground, to camp on and facilities that were shut so i would have had to walk 200 + yards away to use and a pool that looked like no one loved it. On a weekend of 35+c degrees ( 100 F +). So I spent my money 30 kms back up the road at Ilfracombe; and my fellow campers there were equally disgusted with that “park”. Obviously they are working on the ‘one visit to us rule’ and never go back there again. Even in the town , some folks had not so nice thing to say about that place either and put me onto 1/2 doz nicer quieter shadier place.
So here is the tip: Do not stay at the first palce you see and looks can be deceiving.

About Louise

I am a very young 52 year old. Like my star sign I am a typical Capricorn - tenacious, loyal, determined, honest, open minded, and dry sense of humour. I believe in astrology, intuition, spiritual matters and have a very healthy respect for all Buddhism. MY power number is 9. I was born at the end of a Dragon year. I am a very proud 5th generation Australian. I love to cook, read prolifically, write, and enjoy nature with all its wonderment. I love to cook especially for those who appreciate it. Like a great bottle of wine I am getting oh so much better with age. I have a natural curiosity and am constantly asking questions. I like to write and I wish I had become a librarian or researcher. Blogs help me get a "REAL FEEL" of what makes the world tick. Thank you every one for sharing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

