Heading into the South West of Queensland and ” Back of Bourke”

After a hot and short 2 day 3 night stay in Longreach I chose to travel to the far west town of WIndorah.

The road was one of the original 10ft beef roads that , the premier of the state at the time, Sir Joh Bjelke Petersen constructed for all the cattle and sheep to be driven toward the saleyards or toward the Stock routes made famous by Sir Sidney Kidman, The Durack Families, and RM Williams.

Their extensive stories are on display at the Stockman’s Hall of Fame.

http://www.stockmanshalloffame.com.au

Of course after much heavy traffic in the guise of the road trains the roads are barely 6ft wide now. So one has to get far off the road for oncoming traffic; especially the semi trailers as they kick up a lot of dust and stones.   It was a slightly cloudy day of 37 c again and the ‘breeze’ was gusting from the NNE.

After much travelling across the semi barren Cooper Creek Basin in the distance there was a range of hills. Then suddenly we were back into creek country with the white loamy soil and the ghost gums.  As we wound our way into the range the road rose sharply and lo and be hold we were looking at the Lake Eyre BAsin – to my left and the Cooper Creek Channel Country to my right. Although the elevation was not overly high it really hit home how much we ( australia) were covered in a huge inland ocean thousand and thousands of years ago. No wonder they are digging up dinosaurs to the north at Lawn Hill National Park and to the east, some 40kms’ away at Isisford

.I detoured into Stonehenge, for a cuppa and to check out the ‘free camping site’. It was neat and tidy but not much shade to camp under especially in the heat.

On the way out of town I noticed this huge bunker type bank of soil hiding in the bush.  So I decided to take the next track ( which was red dirt) to see what it was. Only I came upon large fences, Stop Do Not Go any further signs etc.

Hmmmm!! my interest was rely piqued until a white Toyota Hilux came along, toward me, and stopped to open the gate. So i asked the guy what the bunker was for.

Yes folks The nations security is hiding in the bush.  It is where Australia’s Over The Horizon Radar base is.  Seems so surreal way to think that way out in to the back country of Queensland is our main Border Protection Base.   It has its own town and everything.

Heading back along the road to WIndorah the terrain turns more into the type of geology that is found around the ‘near by’ opal fields.   It is also quite good for exploring for natural gas and associated chemicals.

Althoug I stayed at a small town called Jundah that night.  I made it to Windorah the next day.

atop the lake eyre basin near thargomindahwindorah

About Louise

I am a very young 52 year old. Like my star sign I am a typical Capricorn - tenacious, loyal, determined, honest, open minded, and dry sense of humour. I believe in astrology, intuition, spiritual matters and have a very healthy respect for all Buddhism. MY power number is 9. I was born at the end of a Dragon year. I am a very proud 5th generation Australian. I love to cook, read prolifically, write, and enjoy nature with all its wonderment. I love to cook especially for those who appreciate it. Like a great bottle of wine I am getting oh so much better with age. I have a natural curiosity and am constantly asking questions. I like to write and I wish I had become a librarian or researcher. Blogs help me get a "REAL FEEL" of what makes the world tick. Thank you every one for sharing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

