HEATWAVE HITS HOME

After leaving Windorah I begun to head east.  This is because , although I wanted to go west to Noccundra and through to Cameron’s Corner; the local Information Lady – Michelle from Wangaratta, Victoria and the police lady suggested it would be safer due to the up coming heatwave.

So , not so silly billy, if they say go east . East i will go. It allowed me to complete the southern edge of The National Science Loop.  It is, also, where I took the photo of the airstrip on the road. So in 39 C (100 f+) Molly and I headed toward Quilpie.

We stayed at the great Caravan Park in Quilpie. Thank God for shade. Although it feels odd getting into an artesian bore spa and unwinding. Warmish water in hot weather, must be aussie. 🙂

There is good opal history here and large saleyards. At St Finbarr’s church there is a huge pew made from a very large slab of opal… Quilpie is , also, the home of the last boarding school in that region. It is the home base for the Durack, Costello and Tully families who opened up this vast area of Queensland. There is such a strong history surrounding these families that some form, or other, of the descendants still live there. Or you can do part of the Outback Mail Run – tuesday and thursday with Dan.

Outside the town is Lake Houdraman. Photos of this can be found on Botany girl.wordpress.com

After surviving a massive nosebleed, meaning a trip to the local hospital for botox to get it to stop. Molly and I heeded the weather and road warnings and headed toward Thargomindah.

At Thargomindah you can find an excellent pool, the spot where Cobb and Co used to cross the river on their trips. It is where The first street lights, after Paris, that had electricity generated by hydro power 1893.

Yes renewable energy way back then and still exists today.

It is the last stop for fuel and stock up especially if your heading west to Tibooburra, Camerons Corner or Birdsville but that will be another trip. When its cooler.

Again, Molly and I headed east through the Dingo Fence. dingo fence

It  is an extremely good area to look for opals. If you deviate toward the north east  a few km’s (120) you will come across Duck Creek Opal Fields or the Yowah Opal Fields where you can meet real bonafide miners and fossick for yourself.

The small town of Eulo ( pop. 25) is where you can find the oh so cute Dipradon dinosaur.

So after checking out the dinosaur plot we headed to Cunnamulla and south to Bourke in NSW.  Yes hte day was still a very hot 40C.   Thank god for air conditioning.

cute eh!!

About Louise

I am a very young 52 year old. Like my star sign I am a typical Capricorn - tenacious, loyal, determined, honest, open minded, and dry sense of humour. I believe in astrology, intuition, spiritual matters and have a very healthy respect for all Buddhism. MY power number is 9. I was born at the end of a Dragon year. I am a very proud 5th generation Australian. I love to cook, read prolifically, write, and enjoy nature with all its wonderment. I love to cook especially for those who appreciate it. Like a great bottle of wine I am getting oh so much better with age. I have a natural curiosity and am constantly asking questions. I like to write and I wish I had become a librarian or researcher. Blogs help me get a "REAL FEEL" of what makes the world tick. Thank you every one for sharing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

