Central West New South Wales – Hillston

Ring- a- ding a ding dong… ” Jingle bells jingle bells jingle all the way.  Ohh!! what fun we could all have, if in the snow we played..”  OOps i momentarily got lost in ROMPS post about snow.  
Yep its still 100F.
BUT the best news is Molly and I are camped under some superb paperbark trees on lush soft green lawn at the Hillston Caravan Park. We, were there on the friday and saturday.  Arriving just in time to be told about a FREE , yes, FREE BBQ ,  in the very pretty park next door. 
 Well it was a welcome BBQ for all the backpackers and travellers who were there for the CHERRY HARVEST.
 And looking at the large crowd there were easily an extra 2-300 people in town for this event. Well actually work. 
This is a town that operates on irrigated crops mainly cotton – yes that t shirt you are wearing began in Hillston.
Wheat, Rye, Cherries, Apricots, Peaches, and pecans.  Of course there is always sheep and wool.
The town has a very positive vibe and you can sense and see how the ‘locals’ appreciate and want visitors enjoy themselves. From Cliff, the local supermarket owner, who helped me, to Michelle , at the caravan park, to Ivan who offered job advice at the Bowling Club Bar, and Denise and her oh so cute 2 year old in the info centre / art gallery.. It was a great stay regardless the HOT HOT weather.
THe tour of the cotton gin is a must, as is a stroll around the wetlands and park; aforementioned.
Great pork and fennel sausages from the butcher, and terrific coffee from the ladies at the “SHED OUTBACK ” cafe place.
SAM  
Here is Sam the Goanna. I saw this big brute on my drive out to Hillston Cherry Farm.  He was lounging on the channel bank. Maybe having a drink in the heat.  On the way back into town in the distance I saw Sam begin to cross the road, at a leisurely pace. So I slowed and grabbed my camera to get a photo of him. 
Unfortunately coming in the other direction, WAY TOOO FAST was a utility.  AND the driver did not even slow down. Hitting Sam. I gasped, hoping, Sam would just run off quickly like they can. But he was unco.
I pulled up near him and got a towel out of the back. These guys can be dangerous and do bite…Hoping i could get him to the vet. But no he died quickly.   I gulped and felt sad. It was such a beautiful lizard and obviously old. He is apx. 1.65 metres long and has the hazy blue markings of a male. 
Why do people do thaat.?/ That other driver had plenty of time to slow or even drive around him. 
sam the goanna unfortunately just been run over
About Louise

I am a very young 52 year old. Like my star sign I am a typical Capricorn - tenacious, loyal, determined, honest, open minded, and dry sense of humour. I believe in astrology, intuition, spiritual matters and have a very healthy respect for all Buddhism. MY power number is 9. I was born at the end of a Dragon year. I am a very proud 5th generation Australian. I love to cook, read prolifically, write, and enjoy nature with all its wonderment. I love to cook especially for those who appreciate it. Like a great bottle of wine I am getting oh so much better with age. I have a natural curiosity and am constantly asking questions. I like to write and I wish I had become a librarian or researcher. Blogs help me get a "REAL FEEL" of what makes the world tick. Thank you every one for sharing.
This entry was posted in accomodation, camping, landscapes, travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

