Delays, Delays and computer glitches – Back to the trip

And here I am again.  So Sorry for the delay in my trip memoirs but after the Heatwave and some minor virus interruptions- on my computer I am back to finish the tale.

( MY trusty ASUS after 8 years has decide to have a case of dementia.  Yep its forgetting to type letters, symbols etc and at times the cursor has gone to get fast food or just having a nanna nap.  Also the margins like to reset themselves; just for laughs. )

After escaping to Bourke on November 6, from the 45C (113F) I headed south down The Kidman Way.

The drive was broken by a detour into Gundabooka National PARK

In this park there is an interesting Aboriginal Art on show in its original rock spots.  As you can see the soil her in this part of NSW is red sandy soil with lots of large pines, and gumtrees.

COBAR

Cobar is a smallish community of apx. 8000 people but its link to Australia’s heritage is hard to miss. It is at Cobar that Australia’s first open cut copper mine was created in 1871.  With it closing in 1920 after a fire broke out and the world price of copper fell. Ironically copper is now a very sought after mineral and the mine has been re started by a new conglomerate CSA.  There are gold mines and zinc mines nearby creating many DIDO and FIFO jobs for the economy.

In what was the former administration building you can find history, tours, and the information centre. Oh!

Ohh! Yeah in Cobar they do that ( ridiculous) reverse 45 D parking to the kerb.

After lunch Molly and I headed further south to the town of Hillston

About Louise

I am a very young 52 year old. Like my star sign I am a typical Capricorn - tenacious, loyal, determined, honest, open minded, and dry sense of humour. I believe in astrology, intuition, spiritual matters and have a very healthy respect for all Buddhism. MY power number is 9. I was born at the end of a Dragon year. I am a very proud 5th generation Australian. I love to cook, read prolifically, write, and enjoy nature with all its wonderment. I love to cook especially for those who appreciate it. Like a great bottle of wine I am getting oh so much better with age. I have a natural curiosity and am constantly asking questions. I like to write and I wish I had become a librarian or researcher. Blogs help me get a "REAL FEEL" of what makes the world tick. Thank you every one for sharing.
This entry was posted in geography, history, landscapes, points of interest, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

