Vale – Phillip Hughes a young man too soon.

Today, in a small country town – Macksville on the Mid coast of New South Wales a funeral is currently being held.

The town has closed, and has technically been closed since last Thursday.

When this young man passed away.  It is 87f with high humidity.  Bright blue sky. Even the surf is flat.

Yet no one is going no where else.

All the community has gathered at the local Macksville high school basketball stadium.

Our Prime Minister, the NSW Premier, the Australian cricket team and the Indian National side, his teammates from South Australia and New South Wales; with their partners have all been sitting for more than 30 minutes, fanning themselves , waiting for the service to begin. Along with thousands of other people here and worldwide.

Phillip Hughes was a member of the Australian Cricket Team.

Last Tuesday, at the Sydney Cricket Ground he was playing for his state team when a horrible tragic accident happened.  Struck on the arterial vein, just behind the left ear, he collapsed and never really gained consciousness after that.  Never recovering he passed away with his family by his side at one of our best hospitals – St Vincents.

There is a con current memorial service being held at the SCG where every day people who love cricket and are just touched by this have gathered.  Meanwhile outside the stadium, in Macksville, people are siting in the hot sun watching the service on a large tv screen. After the service the whole town is going to provide guard of honor and slowly walk behind the hearse.

I,personally did not know the young man but he was so good looking, had huge potential and it was far too soon for him. There has been this terrific honour befitted for him since #putoutyourbats.

Every where i have been people have put their cricket bat and ball with a cap outside their gates; some with R.I.P. Phillip next to it.  It has been heart warming to see so many people acknowledge this man.

For the past week this story has dominated our news headlines.  That is how poignant today is.

As the service began and everybody stood, the true grief on all their faces was distressing. I cried.

The song ” FOREVER YOUNG’ was played and that was it.  I cried some more. As did lots of other people.

I find I cannot bring myself to watch the rest of the service on the television.  That is how much it has shaped australia, it is on five different stations.

I am crying now as i try to articulate this to all of you.   It really is so sad.

Why do we cry at these happenings?? I mean this young man was not even related . yet i feel sad like I did the day my father ‘s funerals were held.

I think it is because I do wear my heart on my sleeve. and I do genuinely care deeply for everyone I know.

ALL l I know. at this moment it is such a tragic loss of such a honourable, humble, very likeable, articulated young man.

Vale Phillip Hughes….may you family, extended family ( The cricketing community) find strength in each others comfort.

Robyn Louise

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

should you wish to know more about this please google any of the many links. Or see the funeral on ninemsn.com, or yahoo seven australia.

About Louise

I am a very young 52 year old. Like my star sign I am a typical Capricorn - tenacious, loyal, determined, honest, open minded, and dry sense of humour. I believe in astrology, intuition, spiritual matters and have a very healthy respect for all Buddhism. MY power number is 9. I was born at the end of a Dragon year. I am a very proud 5th generation Australian. I love to cook, read prolifically, write, and enjoy nature with all its wonderment. I love to cook especially for those who appreciate it. Like a great bottle of wine I am getting oh so much better with age. I have a natural curiosity and am constantly asking questions. I like to write and I wish I had become a librarian or researcher. Blogs help me get a "REAL FEEL" of what makes the world tick. Thank you every one for sharing.
This entry was posted in cricket, funerals, grief. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vale – Phillip Hughes a young man too soon.

  1. zambianlady says:

    From the other side of the world, it was a sad thing to follow the tragic ending of such a young man. I feel for his loved ones and the team mate that threw the ball.

    Like

Leave a Reply

