Aussie Aussie Oi! Oi! Oi! Its Our Birthday

So it is January 26. Officially our nations birthday.. who cares if we are a republic or NOT.. We are still the most liveable, easy going, friendliest country on this planet.

Yes we have recently had our own problems like the rest of the world BUT today is week 2 of the Australian Open tennis, – where last night we proudly watched 4 of our bright young players slug it out to make the finals.   Although I am not sure I like the lollipop colors they are wearing.  Our adopted home boy in Roger Federer was eliminated along with Lleytton Hewitt

Even the Williams sisters ( who we adopt at this time of year) made it through.

Yesterday Afternoon was the culmination of The TOUR DOWN UNDER cycling event in South Australia, where we all loudly applauded (and quietly cried) as Cadel Evans retired from the sport of cycling.  But our next champion in Rohan Dennis won .

We are hosting the ASIAN FOOTBALL CUP ( soccer) and in the game btw Iran and Iraq not one thing politic was mentioned. Whilst 10,000 people cheered both teams on.  Tomorrow the Socceroos play the UAE.

Tonight Australia Plays India in a cricket match, and this week all across the country kiddies pack up their holiday stuff and go back to school.

Today, all around Australia ( and the world)  there will have been community bbq’s, concerts, citizenship ceremonies, fireworks, and all things just plain fun in honour of this birthday.

Should you wish to see how fantastic Australians are.

Here is the list  of OUR Australians of the Year recipients.

The overall winner was a very courageous woman named Rosie Batty.

Although I was hoping the lovely Deborah Lee Furness ( aka Mrs Hugh Jackman) would be recognized for all here terrific work in changing minds and laws for adoption of children from overseas.

My favorite author Jackie French was honored as our top SENIOR Australian.

http://www.australiaday.org.au/australia-day/awards-and-recipients/

So every one  HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO US.

Do yourselves a favor and come on down under soon… CHEERS MATE

 

About Louise

I am a very young 52 year old. Like my star sign I am a typical Capricorn - tenacious, loyal, determined, honest, open minded, and dry sense of humour. I believe in astrology, intuition, spiritual matters and have a very healthy respect for all Buddhism. MY power number is 9. I was born at the end of a Dragon year. I am a very proud 5th generation Australian. I love to cook, read prolifically, write, and enjoy nature with all its wonderment. I love to cook especially for those who appreciate it. Like a great bottle of wine I am getting oh so much better with age. I have a natural curiosity and am constantly asking questions. I like to write and I wish I had become a librarian or researcher. Blogs help me get a "REAL FEEL" of what makes the world tick. Thank you every one for sharing.
This entry was posted in Australia, birthdays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Aussie Aussie Oi! Oi! Oi! Its Our Birthday

Leave a Reply

